What Now? One Week Post-Marathon

It’s been about 10 days since my first marathon, The North Face Endurance Challenge WI.

A few weeks ago, I warned my fiancé he’d have a very narrow window in the period surrounding the race in which I’d be anything but heinous and miserable.

I’d be evil the week before the race. Too many nerves. Too many carbs. Not enough exercise. I’d be bursting with excess energy, anxious, nervous, twitching to feed my running addiction, and just really unpleasant without my daily endorphin drip.

Damn tapering.

I warned him that the day after the race, the adrenaline and high of my accomplishment would wear off, leaving raw exhaustion, emotional depletion, and a depression like one gets upon returning to work after a really great vacation. And that this would last about a week.

“Fantastic,” he said.

I’d only be in a good mood on race day, AFTER the race.

So, to recap, running a marathon would result in me being crabby for approximately two weeks (or, the entire summer, if you count how exhausted I’ve been while training and working two jobs with two young children), with one happy day (race day).

Solid?

Running is awesome!

Fortunately for everyone involved, I only suffered one or two crazy days pre-marathon that we shall not speak of, and ZERO post-marathon.

A week after the race, I was still on cloud nine, wearing my fluorescent yellow race t-shirt and  a 26.2  baseball cap, posting race pics on Facebook every 10 minutes (sorry FB friends, and thank you kindly for wearily liking each unattractive running picture).

You know, just in case people were wondering if I ran a marathon. A week ago.

Despite being too crippled to exercise most of that week (usually an eternity for me), I was giddy, enjoying the spare time, and still really proud of myself.

Which is amazing. I’m never in a good mood for that many days in a row. Ten days out, I’m back to working out and still feeling good.

Maybe I SHOULD do another marathon, despite saying “never again” as I finished.

Is this what happens and how people become addicted? For now, I’m living through friends. Spectating,  keeping company on training runs, and wondering (but not with the post-race despair that I anticipated)… what now?

Leave a Reply

